“Why is she running?”

…… a little girl asked her Mummy as I passed them on this mornings run. I found myself contemplating the possible replies as I plodded on

  • because she’s mad
  • that’s not running that’s jogging (grrrrr)
  • she has nothing better to do with her time
  • its healthy
  • she wants to get fit
  • she needs to lose weight

etc etc……..

Then I found myself pondering that deep question, ‘Why do I run?’ answers were worryingly similar:- I’m mad, this is not running its plodding, its good for me (?!) I like to feel fit, I want to lose weight and dieting alone will not cut it but really what it boils down to is that healthy feeling I get when back home, along with an incredible sense of having achieved something. So that’s it in a nutshell and of course at the moment the Janathon has something to do with it.

Saturday has as usual passed in a whirlwind of activity.

We have been host to a wedding in our house today. We don’t live in wedding venue, usually, but today when I got up this was the scene on the front room floor:-

Minature wedding

as you will clearly see from this official photo, the guests are gathered in their finest clothes to watch the cows get married under the shade of a very large tree. Unfortunately I did not hear the vicar conduct the ceremony, if I had at the point he would have asked “does anyone present know a reason why these cows may not lawfully marry, declare it now” I’d have shouted ‘yes I need to do the hoovering’ but I was too late and housework has been sidelined to another day.

Now I know you will be all thrilled to know the happy couple spent their honeymoon camping

Wedded bliss

the groom looks like he has had too much to drink, but camping on a honeymoon I sure you will admit they know how to live.

Last night hubby showed an interest in this blogging thing, so I willing showed him my posts. Not once did he smile, or make comment except of course to point out any typos, I was really pleased I shared. Wont do that again!

Todays run stats

6 miles, saw 2 other runners clearly neither were Janathoners as did not look frazzled enough.

HALF WAY THERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to “Why is she running?”

  1. runorgocrazy says:

    Love it! Might use that excuse for my housework…..

  2. runtezza says:

    Lovely wedding photos. As to why people think you are running, I once heard about someone who always carried an envelope on runs so it looked as if they were trying to catch the post.

  3. abradypus says:

    Love the wedding photos and choice of honeymoon venue. Boooo! to your husband for pointing out typos. That’s just not right.

  4. stephenamp says:

    Maybe hubby would laugh at the wedding photos! Good summation of the reasons behind running Janathon – pretty much with you on every point. Keep it up!

  5. You are a fine wedding photographer!

  6. Ah lovely wedding. Nice 6 miles wish I could do that. Well I enjoy your blogs even if hubby was just being subdued in his praise..

  7. ewoodeson says:

    Great wedding shots!
    Am sure that Hubby was just jealous of your dedication to the Janathon cause!

  8. I suppose technically it was a civil partnership as cows are all female. In any case, a lovely day for all, hope roast beef not served at the reception.

    As I am still the owner of a gammy knee that prevents running perhaps the answer as to why you run is “because you can”. We’ll all be old and decrepit in no time so make the most of our running legs while we still have them!

  9. Lol! What a thing to come down to in the morning. Great excuse for not hoovering. 😉 My hubby reads my blog posts, and for some reason I find the thought of it excruciating! Well done on today’s run. 🙂

Leave a Reply

