50 fabulous, fantastic fun miles….

Ok so ‘fun’ is an exaggeration but the 50 isn’t Mr Garmin says so and RunSaturday says I’ve run for a total of 9 hours so far this month, I must add the calories burned and will blog that tomorrow, now where is that calculator?

Alarm set for 5 and woke at 4.45 so got up and headed out. Was going to do 6 then last night realised 4 would take me to the big 5 0 so reduced the mileage, which of course I was devastated about. The birds were laughing at me singing, but no other sign of wildlife this morning. The last mile was tough partly to weary legs as was less than 12 hours since I last ran, and partly due to bodily functions starting to wake up, (I feel I can comfortable share this as others have gone before) running with bum clenched firmly together upsets both the running style and speed, but I made it home in time and fortunately no-one in the bathroom. Why is it though at times like this your fingers become useless and you cannot undo your laces?

Blogging has brought about a role reversal in my life. Her who is away at Uni will text to see why I have not blogged, being a student she does not realise that between 9 and 5 some of us WORK which means blogging after dinner. Gone are the days where I say ‘you done your homework?’, now its my turn to be nagged, I get a text with one word ‘Blog?‘ so it is 6.40 a.m and I’m off to find my phone so I can text her ‘Have blogged’ she’s bound to be awake!

Enjoy day 13 everyone, hope its lucky for you.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 50 fabulous, fantastic fun miles….

  1. Brittany says:

    Well her away at uni leads a very stressful 10hours a week. With assignments that carry on over months. And if it means I get 5mins of entertainment by reading your blog the sooner the better! Xx

  2. Congrats on the big 50…nice one!

  3. bigvern72 says:

    Well done on reaching the half century mileage stone

  4. Congrats on 50miles! Another 50 to go?!!!

  5. runtezza says:

    Big up 2 u on the half century. Respect!!!

  6. Huge congrats on bringing up the big 50 so quickly!

  7. fortnightflo says:

    Wow – well done on 50! 100 by the end of Janathon?

  8. Giselle says:

    50! That’s fantastic!! Good work!

  9. 50 miles woo hoo, well done!

    but why do you need to undo your trainers to do a number two, though? it reminds me of a student flatmate. i “interrupted” him once ‘cos he forgot to lock the door and i learnt that he always completely took his trousers and underpants off when he went to the toilet. never found out why…..

    • shazruns says:

      To explain in case you think I have some kind of weird childhood thing going on like your student flatmate. Hubby who is not really keen on this running lark would skin me alive if I were to run up the stairs without removing my trainers-new biege carpet the reason.

  10. Ha ha, bodily functions and it’s not me for once talking about them! Brilliant on the 50 miles, and home the tendonitus is easing up, I lost 8 weeks of running to that last year so I sympathise.

  11. Pingback: Day 14… | abradypus

Leave a Reply

