Tired, tender toes, twinging tendonitis…

…… tempted to have a rest day? NO. (well only a for about 2 seconds!)

Dished dinner up, grabbed bright white ‘you are a London marathon reject jacket’ and set out for 3 miles of fartlek (not to do with stomach problems that other Janathoners have recently blogged about), tried to do some hard running interwoven with recovery run, the latter of course out weighing the first-lazy. According to Mr Garmin my quickest pace was 7.15 and feel this must have been reached whilst going past Mr Boot Camps van, was scared he would leap out and offer me a leaflet and thought I best try and look like I did not need to attend the local park to get shouted at.

Ran three miles and it felt better than I thought it would, did not go too far as plan to do double early tomorrow.

Time for a slight rant, I really despise when people say to me ‘I saw you out jogging’, I don’t mind that I’ve been seen or that they feel the need to tell me that I’ve been spotted in unflattering attire looking a mess, but I HATE the term JOG, to me it is a put down, not sure why, maybe it brings to mind the 70’s/80’s when it was trendy to JOG. I never say I’m going for a jog or that I jog I always use the term ‘run’ even though I’m not very fast. In the Runners world this month there is a quote that made my day it is from the New York Marathon on-line running program it says ‘If you are running, no matter how much or how slow, you’re a runner’

So to all you fellow Janathon runners hope your day 12 went well from Shazruns a runner

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Tired, tender toes, twinging tendonitis…

  1. Yep from staggerers like me, to the rocket men/women, we are all runners…cue inspirational music, covering slo-mo shots of Janathoners in different locations… sorry day job took over then, another day down, whoop!

  2. Also much prefer run to jog. Why is it that people always recognise me out running however much a bad hair/hat/dirty run kit day it is?!

  3. stephenamp says:

    Well done Shaz – you’re definitely a runner. (Especially with a pace of 7.15… what were you using rocket powered shoes?!!)

  4. abradypus says:

    Though ‘run, log, blog’ just doesn’t have the same ring.

  5. Giselle says:

    Totally agree although with 7.15 you can quite rightly say you run!

  6. fortnightflo says:

    LOL – I too have one of those jackets – and a couple of others… I call myself a runner, but for some reason am embarrassed to say to other runners I went for a run as I think I’m so much slower than them that my running is jogging and their running is running, but actually it’s all running so yay – am not going to be embarassed anymore – thank you!

  7. lazybetty says:

    well said, let’s hear it for us RUNNERS. hooray i really am a runner too. thank you for pointing this out.

  8. I’ve been for a run in a reject jacket, reject fleece wearing my reject watch before now. Good run.

Leave a Reply

