Clear blue skies & a 10 miler

Clear blue skies-nice to see

With the iPod playing ‘everybody hurts sometimes’ quite appropriately, I set out for a long slow run, correction very slow, very long run. Very tough going today, legs felt fine but felt sapped of energy so the mind had to take over to get me through the distance. As I err on the stubborn side (very slightly you understand) I am pleased to say I made it!! Yippee. But what a struggle.

Stats for today

  • Saw 10 other runners plus (all making it look easier than it felt for me)
  • 1 pile of dog poo avoided
  • 0 liquid consumed on run as forgot to get energy drink (stupid I know)
  • Favourite song listened to on iPod Lollipop by Mika
  • Most aprropriate song  listened to on ipod –keep on running
  • 1 detour made as path flooded and no wellies on
  • Clouds in sky zero
  • Time it took-too long

On arrival back at house jumped in shower, consumed toast & a banana & a cup of tea lovingly made by hubby, then it was out the door again in 25 mins to take my budding Frank Lampard to her footie game. Loving hubby mentioned that maybe to give myself more time I should have only done 8 miles my reply went sort of like “yes darling but I did not realise I would be sooooooooo ********* slow”

Game went well and Lampard played well (hope the real one does today) it was a 1.1 draw and the goal that got past my little defender was a beauty and she did not stand a chance of  getting to it unless she was the green giant.

Home for a well deserved bowl of soup, her ladyship had chicken noodle which I had to dig the corn out of, then only got marked 9/10 for it as she found a piece, cheek, must stop her watching Come Dine With Me.

This afternoons activity is feet up on couch in front of Furry Vengeance.

Huge thanks for advice on Pitta bread cutting, will give this try tomorrow and will blog the result,  must think of another culinary conundrum to keep you all busy,

Enjoy your Sunday run Janathoners.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Clear blue skies & a 10 miler

  1. abradypus says:

    Yippee indeed and enjoy your pitta bread cutting.

  2. Hels says:

    Loved this blog – made me smile. Well done on doing the run and to mini Frank Lampard!

  3. fortnightflo says:

    10 miles – awesome – tell the hubby where to go – nicely of course!

  4. Athena says:

    nicely done! now I feel like I’m shirking. I always tell myself when I see faster runners that I don’t know their training schedule or their planned distance for the day, and they don’t know mine. It helps to avoid comparison, which my grandmother said were “odious”. It took me a long while to know what that word means, but now I agree.
    Chris

  5. Maggiee says:

    Well done you and you’re very own little Lampard… I have googled Furry Vengence… I think I’m too scared to watch it! Sticking with Sherlock Holmes for the moment! 🙂

  6. stephenamp says:

    You’re really putting in the miles – excellent work in posting a 10 miler. And I’ll always associate “Everybody Hurts” with running after you that – isn’t that the truth!?!

  7. I LOVE that your teenage daughter is giving you the Come Dine With Me treatment – does she do the Dave Lamb put-downs too?

Leave a Reply

