Hardish (for a lazy runner) 2 miles

Set the alarm for 5.30 am, woke at 1 am and thought thats great 4.5 hours of sleep to go, I just love that feeling. Lept (well sort of) out of bed at 5.20 and set out for what I wanted to be a quick 2 miles as planning to run 2 long runs this weekend. Ran a mile and thought my lungs would explode so stopped for a breather as did not want to make a mess of the pavement, then ran back home. Time not too bad just over 9 min miles. Seeing as I used to do a lot better before December am thinking of campaigning to miss that month out in 2011, I’ m sure my 8 year old wont object. Managed to get home before the rain and spent the rest of the day watching the rain thinking I’m glad I’ve run already. Apologies for my smugness for those of you who returned home from your runs like drowned rats. Should have heeded advice I left on a blog about wearing a long t-shirt to hide VPL, however VPL was not my issue. I had a problem with BO, no not the sweating type although that might be the case also. This BO is caused by wearing hipster style capri running trousers and a short shirt (the phrase never the twain should meet springs to mind) which causes Belly Overhang and must have slowed me down as had to keep trying to get the the top and bottom to join so as not to traumatise any public brave enough to be up at that hour.

Fridays are good not just because they are Fridays but because I finish work early. This enables me to do the housework, oh yes I know how to live life to the fullest. Must check Running free to see if cleaning is considered an activity, pole dancing is so surely hoovering must count.

Dinner was healthy sausage casserole for me, full fat bangers and buttered new potaotes for the others (great insurance policy in place) casserole was fab and have 3 portions in freezer for next week, how good is that?

Hey Janathoners we are through the first week. I am feeling better for it and hope all you are too. This blogging business is fun too!! Good luck next week.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hardish (for a lazy runner) 2 miles

  1. You’re entitled to feel smug for running that early! Well done.

  2. abradypus says:

    I hate that! If I go to sleep now, I get 8 hours. If I go to sleep now, I get 7 1/2 hours…. If I [yawn and swear] go to sleep now, I get 4 hours. [Kick snoring husband]. If I go to sleep now, I get 2 1/2 hours. [Weep]. 😦

  3. The trouble is with going out too early you meet the drunks coming home, there must be an optimum early, but not too early ot not too late time. I’m rambling, happy end of week one, and I hope that sausage dinner does not rumble on throught the night.

  4. fortnightflo says:

    Well done on completing week 1 – 3 more and a bit to go – yay!!
    Sausage casserole sounds tasty – must dust off my slow cooker…

Leave a Reply

